BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
NairobiTester
Calcite | Level 5

How can I do logistic Regression in SAS Studio (SAS OnDemand for Academics) using categorical variables that have been assigned character values such as yes/no; nothing/low/medium/high; linear or non-linear; success/failed; bachelors/masters/Ph.D. and so on? Kindly help. It has really given me a headache since I'm new to SAS. See below I've attached a file holding the data set that I have to use to do logistic regression.

4 REPLIES 4
Reeza
Super User

Here's a tutorial for you that you can follow along with - full data is available.

https://documentation.sas.com/doc/en/pgmsascdc/9.4_3.4/statug/statug_logistic_examples02.htm\

In SAS, you can leave them as is and include them in both the CLASS and MODEL statement and specify your parameterization method. 

That's all that's needed.

Base example assuming you have a data set called SAMPLE, categorical variables called Status and YesNo, an outcome called Outcome and continuous variables such as Age and BP.

proc logistic data=sample;
class Status YesNo / PARAM=REF;
model outcome = Age Status YesNo BP;
run;

@NairobiTester wrote:

How can I do logistic Regression in SAS Studio (SAS OnDemand for Academics) using categorical variables that have been assigned character values such as yes/no; nothing/low/medium/high; linear or non-linear; success/failed; bachelors/masters/Ph.D. and so on? Kindly help. It has really given me a headache since I'm new to SAS. See below I've attached a file holding the data set that I have to use to do logistic regression.

NairobiTester
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Reeza,

I'm running the following code but I'm getting an error.

Error.

ERROR: Variable NUMBER_OF_SALES_SUPPORT_MATERIAL not found.
 ERROR: Variable WORKED_IN_TOP_COMPANIES not found.
 NOTE: The SAS System stopped processing this step because of errors.
 78         proc logistic data = research.fintech1;
 79            class  number_of_sales_support_material