BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
mcmaxwell
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello, I am new to SAS so any information will be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

I am trying to make a graph to represent some survey responses to 15 Likert-scale answers. 

Here is an example of what my data looks like:

mcmaxwell_0-1611359384901.png

I would like to make a graph very similar to the one below. (retrieved from: https://blogs.sas.com/content/graphicallyspeaking/2014/10/30/likert-graphs/#prettyPhoto).

Likert_Panel_4.png

The main differences are (1) that I am not grouping my responses in any way (so each panel would only have one horizontal bar) and (2) I used a 7 point Likert-scale (so each horizontal bar would have 7 sections on my graph).

Here is the example code from the website: 

ods listing style=styles.likert;
title 'Survey Responses to Questions by Country';
proc sgpanel data=Likert_4 ;
  panelby question / layout=panel columns=1 onepanel novarname noborder nowall;
  highlow y=country low=low high=high / group=group type=bar nooutline   
          lowlabel=sumdisagree highlabel=sumagree;
  rowaxis display=(nolabel noticks) fitpolicy=none;
  colaxis display=(nolabel noticks novalues);
  keylegend / noborder;
run;

I have tried modifying this code a few different ways but have not had any luck. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! I believe I need to make several variables (i.e. "highlow", "low", "high", etc) but I am not sure how to do that. I also do not have a y variable, and I am not sure if this code will work without one. Is there a simpler way to make this graph? Again, thank you in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

First thing is read the whole article and pay special attention to the bit where Sanjay says: