BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
SAS_Novice22
Quartz | Level 8

Hi everyone,

I am very new to SAS and would appreciate any assistance. I would like to take the new variable I generated and give labels to the numeric codes to create easy interpretation.

Here is what the data looks like:

SAS_Novice22_0-1654543729669.png

Here is my code (which is not working):

PROC FORMAT;
                 VALUE RACE 1="ASIAN"
                                         2="BLACK"
                                         3="PACIFIC"
                                         4="WHITE"
                                         5="OTHER";
                    RUN;

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.

T.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

You need to provide your code as text, not as images.

You created a format you never used it. You use a format using a FORMAT statement.

For more information on formats read this paper https://support.sas.com/resources/papers/proceedings/proceedings/sugi30/001-30.pdf

proc format;
value age_cat
low - 12 = 'Pre-Teen'
13 - 16 = 'Teen'
16 - high = 'Young Adult';
run;

proc freq data=sashelp.class;
table age;
format age age_cat.;
run;

@SAS_Novice22 wrote:

Thank you to provide more clarity. I would like the proc print tables to show the new labels, with the code I use above here is what the data still looks like:

SAS_Novice22_0-1654545120953.png

I would like the following labels to be applied instead of the numeric numbers. The text format has been included in the original post. 

SAS_Novice22_1-1654545165498.png

Here is the log I get:

SAS_Novice22_2-1654545346570.png

Thank you.

T.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Your posted code looks fine for creating a format named RACE to decode those 5 values into text.