BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
tehorne
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi-

I have imported two different excel files:

1. The first excel file is the starting file.

2. The second excel file is the a spreadsheet that continously updates with new records.

I have set up an append query to join these two sheets. What I am needing help with is writing the program to get rid of the duplicates that sits in the SECOND excel sheet, because I need to use the records that are in the FIRST spreadsheet that are considered 'duplicates'. I just need the SECOND excel sheet to append all new records, seeing that it will be the one that is updated everyday.

I'm not sure of what all you need from me.. but just let me know.

FYI,, I am very new to the SAS language and process flows. So you may have to give me step by step examples. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
tehorne
Fluorite | Level 6

You are absotutely right!

This helped me out a lot!

Thank you.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Astounding
PROC Star

Do both files contain a variable such as ID that uniquely identifies an observation?  (It could be a set of variables rather than just one.)

Are you allowed to sort your data before combining the files?

If the second file contains a piece of data that was missing in the first file, do you want to use that data or ignore it?  For example, first file contains a record for ID=1, but WEIGHT is missing.  Second file also contains a record for ID=1, but WEIGHT is 150.  Use the 150, or discard it?

tehorne
Fluorite | Level 6

Yes, I have a unique ID called [Segment ID]

I just had to think about it. Maybe you can help me find the best resolution.