BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
mcmaxwell
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi, I'm new to SAS Studio and I appreciate any help! 

I have two excel data files that I am trying to merge. The first contains survey data from students in a course (45 variables and 491 observations). The second one contains exam scores from all students within the same course (3 variables, 619 observations).

I am trying to one-to-one left merge the data using student ID number as the identifier, so that my new dataset contains all the information from the survey file and the exam scores only for the students who took my survey. 

I import the files using the following SAS code: 

/** Import survey file.  **/  
PROC IMPORT DATAFILE="/folders/myfolders/sasuser.v94/SMI PARTIALLY Coded Data.xlsx"  
		    OUT=L_DATA  
		    DBMS=XLSX  
		    REPLACE;  
RUN;  

/** Import grades file.  **/  
PROC IMPORT DATAFILE="/folders/myfolders/sasuser.v94/Exam 1 Scores.xlsx"  
		    OUT=R_DATA  
		    DBMS=XLSX  
		    REPLACE;  
RUN; 

Then, I create new ID columns that are characters rather than numbers: 

/** Create a new ID column as a character **/  
DATA LEFT; /* Names the new data LEFT */  
   set L_DATA (rename=(SUID=ID)); /* Says to use L_DATA data, and to rename variable SUID as ID */   
   SUID= put(ID,f5. -L); /* Not sure what this does. */  
   drop SUID; /* Drops the variable SUID */  
run; 

/** Create a new SUID column as Character in GRADES **/   
DATA RIGHT;    
   set R_DATA (rename=(SUID=ID));    
   SUID= put(ID,f5. -L);    
   drop SUID;   
run;  

Then, I sort the datasets by ID 

/** Sort datasets by ID **/  
PROC SORT DATA = LEFT;  
	BY ID;   
RUN;  
PROC SORT DATA = RIGHT;  
	BY ID;   
RUN;  

And finally, I try to merge the data sets: 

/** Merge datasets **/ 
DATA ALL; 
	MERGE LEFT (IN=LEFT) RIGHT (IN=RIGHT); 
	BY ID; 
	IF LEFT;  
RUN;