BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Kamal5522
Obsidian | Level 7
I am new to SAS. Could you please advise what is the difference b/w Run and Quit, both can be used to terminate the programme.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Neither one will terminate a SAS program. They are used to end steps.

Whether a step uses QUIT or not depends on whether it allows "run groups".  That is that you can run something without leaving the procedure and then add more statements and run those. For procedures that support run groups you need to use the QUIT statement to end the procedure.  Also PROC SQL needs a QUIT statement but it does NOT support the RUN statement, but that is because each statement runs immediately. 

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Neither one will terminate a SAS program. They are used to end steps.

Whether a step uses QUIT or not depends on whether it allows "run groups".  That is that you can run something without leaving the procedure and then add more statements and run those. For procedures that support run groups you need to use the QUIT statement to end the procedure.  Also PROC SQL needs a QUIT statement but it does NOT support the RUN statement, but that is because each statement runs immediately. 

Phil_NZ
Barite | Level 11

Hi @Tom 

Sorry for digging this topic up, I am looking for the difference between RUN and QUIT and see this post.

I read your answer and @tsap  additional document but I am still confused.

Could you please explain or give me an example for this sentence to me a little bit 

run something without leaving the procedure and then add more statements and run those

and 

Also PROC SQL needs a QUIT statement but it does NOT support the RUN statement, but that is because each statement runs immediately

Warm regards.

and