BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
MSree01
Fluorite | Level 6
Hi, I am new to SAS, I need to add date macro with variable that it captures date 12 months back from current date . Say if I run code today.. macro should have below date where day (20th of Month) should remain same but year and month can change based on 12 months period.
Run date - current date ( any day in April 2024)
Date macro - March 20, 2023

If run date - May 25th 2024 (Any day in May)
Date macro - April 20, 2023

Appreciate any help
Thank you,
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
antonbcristina
SAS Employee

@MSree01 , if you run this code tomorrow it will still generate a back date of 20APR2023. The logic there comes from using the beginning of the month ("B") as a reference point which gives us 01APR2023 and adding 19 days to that will always yield 20th of the month. 

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
antonbcristina
SAS Employee

Welcome to the wonderful world of SAS! According to my calculations, 12 months back from Apr 2024 should be Apr 2023 but maybe there's a reason you need to include the previous month as well. Regardless, the calculation would require the INTNX function which allows you to backtrack by a given time interval, say month. Documentation here: https://documentation.sas.com/doc/en/pgmsascdc/9.4_3.5/lefunctionsref/p10v3sa3i4kfxfn1sovhi5xzxh8n.h... 

Here's an example: 

data dates;
	run_date='23apr2024'd;
	back12months_date=intnx('month',run_date,-12,'B')+19;

format run_date back12months_date date9.;
run;

The INTNX function uses 4 arguments here:

1. The time interval you want to increment/decrement by ("month")
  2. The starting point (run_date)
  3. The increment/decrement value (12 months back would be specified as -12)
  4. The alignment (we will align to the beginning of the month using "B")

I've added 19 days to this calculation to get us to the 20th of the month.