BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
AlG
Quartz | Level 8 AlG
Quartz | Level 8

Hi friends,

I am very new to the SAS world. While working with a dataset I have faced an issue. Hope you will help me. (I use SAS 9.4).

I have a dataset which includes the tweets of several companies during 2014-2018. I want to label each tweet based on the month and the week it was posted (i.e. a week and a month column). The way I want to do this is I want to start from January 1st 2014, and go seven days by seven days. so the tweets that were posted any time between January 2nd 2014 to January 8th 2014 (inclusive) would be month 1 and week 1. Below are my two questions:

1. How can I create these two columns?

2. Because the labeling is seven days by seven days, it will not completely overlap with calendar weeks. For example, the fourth 7-day period of the month January ends on January 29th. The next seven day period would be January 30th to February 5th (inclusive). I want this period to be labeled month 2, week 6. In other words, when a seven-day period includes days of more than one month, the labeling should be based on the later month.

The last thing is that for each given year, there should always be a week that starts from January 2nd. 

I'd really appreciate if you could give me a pretty specific code I could use (with variable names made up). I have attached my desired output as an excel file.

Thank you so much again in advance.

9 REPLIES 9
mkeintz
PROC Star

Jan 1, 2014 is a Wednesday.  Are you saying you only want weeks that start on Wednesdays and end on the following Tuesdays?

--------------------------
The hash OUTPUT method will overwrite a SAS data set, but not append. That can be costly. Consider voting for Add a HASH object method which would append a hash object to an existing SAS data set

Would enabling PROC SORT to simultaneously output multiple datasets be useful? Then vote for
Allow PROC SORT to output multiple datasets

--------------------------
AlG