BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
SAS_Novice22
Quartz | Level 8

Hi all,

Newbie here again. This SAS community has been super helpful. I have learned more in the last hour than I have watching many online YouTube tutorials so thank you so so much. I have one last issues for the day. I am attempting to generate a new variable based on responses to two other variables.

I am able to generate the new variable, however, I am running into problems with the coding that instructs the new variable what it is to be based on. 

This is for inclusion/exclusion criteria:

Subject will have had to indicate 'No' to using Drug A AND have taken 0,1, 2, or 3 doses of Drug B. Does that make sense?

Here is my code:

/**NEW DRUG B USER**/
DATA WORK.DRUG;
	SET DRUG;
	NEWDRUGB = .;
RUN;

DATA WORK.DRUG;
	SET DRUG;
	IF DRUGAYN="N" AND DRUGB="0" "1" "2" "3" THEN NEWDRUGB=1;
	ELSE NEWDRUGB = .;
RUN;

Here is the log output I am getting, can someone advise me what I might be doing wrong?

ERROR 388-185: Expecting an arithmetic operator.
ERROR 200-322: The symbol is not recognized and will be ignored.
ERROR 160-185: No matching IF-THEN clause.

Thank you again.

T.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

First generic comment about error messages. Go to the log, copy the text of the entire step or procedure that generates the error including ALL the notes or messages as well as the error. Then on the forum open a text box using the </> icon that appears above the message window and paste the text there.

The text box is important to preserve the diagnostic characters that typically appear with some of the errors.

If you want to test if a variable takes one of multiple values the syntax is IN (<list of values goes here>). If the values are numeric do not include quotes around the values. So your syntax would be one of :

/* if the Drugb variable is character */