001                        0               0             
002        1               0               0
003        1               1               0

I want to get results like this:

ID       Flag1           Flag2           Flag3 
001        N               N               N            
002        Y               N               N
003        Y               Y               N

The logic is, if as at Status31Jan2007 = 1 and the following two months, count of Status fields with 0 > 0, then flag it as 'Y'. Else, N.

Note that I have up to 118 months in my dataset.

After getting the results, how do I count the number of flags N and Y under each fields?

Count1           Count2          Count3
N          1               2               3 
Y          2               1               0

Would appreciate the help as I am new to SAS. Thanks.

4 REPLIES 4
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

You can use proc freq to get counts of flags in the dataset, examples on the manual:

https://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/statug/63962/HTML/default/viewer.htm#statug_freq_sect00...

What I would say is that it isn't a good idea to work with transposed data like that, its an Excel way of thinking which isn't conducive to SAS programming.

ID         DATE           STATUS

001       28Jan2007  0

001       31mar2007  0

002       31jan2017   1

002   ...

You will note that due to this structure you also save disk space as the missing is not needed.  From this you can also sum and group quite easily to get your flags.  Flag1=exists(status=1) for id, and sum(case when status=0 then 1 else 0 end)=2.

jshingwng
Calcite | Level 5

I see. I could transpose my data from wide to long. But how would I set the condition following this logic? --> if as at Status31Jan2007 = 1 and the following two months, count of Status fields with 0 > 0, then flag it as 'Y'. Else, N.

How do I count the Status fields for the next 2 months as at each field? 

RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9