BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
edasdfasdfasdfa
Quartz | Level 8

What are the different roles/positions one might apply for if they showed competence in SAS Base? (i.e., certification). I know certification would not guarantee a job, but what would the potential entry-level roles be?

11 REPLIES 11
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

My company hires recent college graduates, even with no SAS experience, as data analysts. I suppose if you have certification, you are also eligible and might even get a higher paying job.

--
Paige Miller
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Adding: I work in banking, my department works on Credit Risk (if you don't know what that is, don't worry about it, I think every bank does this maybe with a different name) and as I said, we hire students who have just graduated who don't know what Credit Risk is when we hire them.

--
Paige Miller
edasdfasdfasdfa
Quartz | Level 8

Is it harder for people changing careers in their 30's to '50s, let's say, or does do you think there is more a focus on your new graduates at your company/in your industry?

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

So let's just say that I worked in manufacturing for more than two decades, and then got hired for my current job in banking. And others in my department also were hired with non-banking backgrounds after a decade or two in other fields. In fact, we just hired a Ph.D. Sociologist with over a decade of work in the social sciences for Credit Risk.

Do all banks do this? I don't know.

--
Paige Miller
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi: