BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
MonsterGnom
Calcite | Level 5

Hey people,

I'm new to SAS and have a question that is hopefully easy to answer. The problem is that I have a dataset with a time variable and corresponding price values. Some timestamps appear more than once others only once. I'm asked to produce a dataset with all timestamps only occuring once and therefore to calculate the mean of the corresponding price variables for every timestamp that occures more than once. We're supposed to do it with a DoW-loop but any solutions would help me. By now I'm pretty desperate because I dont really have an idea how to do it. I only created a variable containing the i+1-th timestamp to be able to compare the time variable with its next value. But counting the number of observations with the same timestamp starting over for every new timestamp that occures multiple times seems quite difficult to me. If I missed necessary informations just ask for them and I wil post them in a reply. Thanks for your help.

8 REPLIES 8
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

We're supposed to do it with a DoW-loop but any solutions would help me.