BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
chrisdunlap
Calcite | Level 5
Hello,
My apologies if I incorrectly formatted anything in this support request or if I missed a technical document that covers this topic, this is the first time I have worked with SAS so I am not very experienced and I may have not searched the correct terms to figure out my issue.  Anyway, I am working on my dissertation looking at opinions on smoking in vehicles using secondary data and there are two questions with the following question path with counts in red:

Q1: Inside a car when other people are present, do you think that smoking should: (n=132811)

(1) Always be allowed (n=4770)

(2) Be allowed under some conditions (n=25805)

(3) Never be allowed (n=102236)

If they answer (3), they are skip logic'd past the next question.  If they answer (1) or (2), they are given the follow up question:

Q2: If children are present inside the car, do you think smoking should: (n=31023)

(1) Always be allowed (n=1189)

(2) Be allowed under some conditions (n=4592)

(3) Never be allowed (n=25242)

We decided that for analysis of Q2, we should carry Q1's answer (3) "never be allowed" to be included with Q2's answer (3) "never be allowed" since if they were never allowed in the first scenario, they are technically also never allowed in the second.  However, when I do this, the new count looks like this for Q2 with differences in green: 

NEWQ2: If children are present inside the car, do you think smoking should: (n=133259)

(1) Always be allowed (n=1189)

(2) Be allowed under some conditions (n=4592)

(3) Never be allowed (n=127478)

I do not know where to start to figure out where the additional counts are coming from once I add in the new condition.  The code I'm using for this should be pretty simple where PEK6h is Q1 and PEK6h2 is Q2 and those other two variables are for my recodes.