BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Vicente95
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello All,

Background

I am new to SAS programming and general statistics and am working on a personal project where I want to analyze the used cars listing on Craigslist. After some research, I found Austin Reese's Used Cars dataset on Kaggle to be beneficial to my project, as shown here: https://www.kaggle.com/austinreese/craigslist-carstrucks-data. I am using the latest dataset available on Kaggle as of June 16, 2021. 

Problem

The problem with the dataset is that there are tens and hundreds of thousands of missing values for the string variables such as condition, cylinders, drive, paint_color, etc. I was able to trim the latest dataset available on Kaggle to 349,188 from 426,880 and clear all missing values for the quantitative variables such as the price, odometer, year, and posting date. I do NOT want to delete any rows that have missing values since that would induce bias into my analysis and reduce the overall sample size. Can anyone please offer me guidance on how I can replace all the missing values in the string variables in SAS so I can start performing my analysis? If needed, I can attach my current code file and any relevant SAS code output to this question. Any assistance is much appreciated. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26
if condition^='Salvage' then do;
    if year >= 2021 then condition = 'New';
    else if year >= 2019 then condition = 'Like New';
    else condition = 'Used';
end;

I think it would be wiser to not store Salvage in the same variable as New, Like New or Used, it seems like you might want separate variables here.

--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
Vicente95
Obsidian | Level 7