BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
AAZ
Fluorite | Level 6 AAZ
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi Folks, 

I am new to Sas trying to solve below simple facility location, Please advice what I am missing,

DataWgtXY
Boston42510080
Providence3208640
Springfield2202060

Proc optmodel;

set city = {'BO','PR','SP'};
set Geo = {'X','Y'};

number Cor{city,Geo} =[100 80 86 40 20 60];

number Wgt{City}=[425 320 220];

var x{city,Geo} integer >= 0;
var y{city,Geo} integer >= 0;

Minimize MinWgtDis = sum{i in City}sum {j in Geo}
(sqrt((cor[i,j] - x[i,j])^2 + (cor[i,j] - y[i,j])^2 ))* Wgt[i];
/*
con x{i in city,j in Geo}: X[i,j]<=200;
con y{i in city,j in Geo}: y[i,j]<=200;*/

solve;

print MinWgtDis x y;
quit;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RobPratt
SAS Super FREQ

You can use the EXPAND statement to see how the objective function you defined gets populated:

Var x >= 0                                                                                
Var y >= 0                                                                                
Minimize MinWgtDis=SQRT((-x + 100)**2 + (-y + 100)**2)*425 + SQRT((-x + 80)**2 + (-y + 80)
**2)*425 + SQRT((-x + 86)**2 + (-y + 86)**2)*320 + SQRT((-x + 40)**2 + (-y + 40)**2)*320  
 + SQRT((-x + 20)**2 + (-y + 20)**2)*220 + SQRT((-x + 60)**2 + (-y + 60)**2)*220          

You can see that the formula for MinWgtDis is not really what you intended.  Here's a modification of your code that instead does what you want:

Proc optmodel;
set Geo = {'Xi','Yi'};
number Cor{city,Geo} =[100 80 86 40 20 60];
number Wgt{city}=[425 320 220];
var x {Geo} >= 0 ;

Minimize MinWgtDis = sum{i in city} sqrt(sum {j in Geo} (cor[i,j] - x[j])^2)* Wgt[i];

solve;
print MinWgtDis x;
quit;

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
RobPratt
SAS Super FREQ

Here's one way to solve it as an unconstrained problem with nonlinear objective and two variables:

data indata;