BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
mcs
Obsidian | Level 7 mcs
Obsidian | Level 7

I'm just starting out with PROC SGMAP.  I want to learn how to make a bubble plot.  I tried the following code.

proc sort data=sashelp.us_data(keep=population_2010 state) out=us_pop;
by state;

data us_pop;
merge us_pop mapsgfk.uscenter(keep=lat long state);
by state;

proc sgmap maprespdata=us_pop mapdata=mapsgfk.us;
choromap population_2010 / mapid=state;
run;

proc sgmap plotdata=us_pop mapdata=mapsgfk.us;
choromap / mapid=state;
bubble x=long y=lat size=population_2010;
run;

The first map worked fine, but the second one showed only the bubbles and no state outlines.

choro.png

bubble.png

What did I do wrong?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

Check your map data set. My version of mapsgfk.US does not have lat and long coordinates.

If that is the case with yours then the plotdata does not correspond to the mapdata for geographic coordinates. Then the "map" created shows the bubbles over a likely squarish region using the lat/long as simple cartesian coordinates.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
ballardw
Super User

Check your map data set. My version of mapsgfk.US does not have lat and long coordinates.

If that is the case with yours then the plotdata does not correspond to the mapdata for geographic coordinates. Then the "map" created shows the bubbles over a likely squarish region using the lat/long as simple cartesian coordinates.

mcs
Obsidian | Level 7 mcs
Obsidian | Level 7

Thanks for your help.  I tried using mapsgfk.uscenter (which has lat and long) for the mapdata= option, but that didn't work for either the choro or the bubble.  What are my options for mapdata=?

ballardw
Super User

@mcs wrote: