BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
lilyduboff
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all!

I am fairly new to SAS and am trying to assign specific colors to certain options in a group I have. I am trying to make a graph to show the frequency of catastrophic sport injuries that have occurred over the past few years and the event type distribution for those injuries for every state in the U.S. I have my years on the x axis and then have clustered the event types on each year. I tried using an attribute map to assign my colors and then used a macro to code for a few states at once. However, my colors are not as I assigned them, and they keep switching between states. Ideally, I am hoping to have the colors be consistent between all states. If anyone has suggestions on how to assign colors, I would greatly appreciate that! Thank you for the help in advance!

My code is below for my color assignment and graphing:

/*ASSIGNING COLORS TO DIFFERENT EVENT TYPES*/
data sreportmap2;
length ID $10 value $6 linecolor $ 9 fillcolor $ 9;
input ID $ value $ linecolor $ fillcolor $;
datalines;
BarAttr Competition/Game Green Green
BarAttr Conditioning Yellow Yellow
BarAttr Non-athletic Gray Gray
BarAttr Other Black Black
BarAttr OtherTeam Purple Purple
BarAttr Practice Orange Orange
BarAttr Scrimmage Lime Lime
BarAttr Strength/Weight Pink Pink
BarAttr Unafilliated Lightblue Lightblue
;
run;

/*making my graph here*/
%macro chart7 (stateM=, title=);
title "&title for &stateM";
proc sgplot data = sreport dattrmap=sreportmap2;
where state=&stateM;
vbar yearacademic / attrid=BarAttr categoryorder=respdesc group=eventtype groupdisplay=cluster;
xaxis label = "Academic Year";
yaxis label = "Frequency";
run;
%mend chart7;

%chart7 (stateM="Florida", title="Frequency of Catastrophic Injuries among Event Types from 2013 to 2022");
%chart7 (stateM="Ohio", title="Fatality Outcomes of Catastrophic Injuries among all Sports from 2013 to 2022");

3 REPLIES 3
ballardw
Super User