BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
mitchum
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

I'm pretty new to SAS and not sure if we can achieve it, but i try to generate a json form a table.

Let say I get this dataset :

data testdataset;
  input sku$ label$ search__XX$ search__YY$ enabled;
datalines;
123-456 productA  producAX  productAY 1
123-789 productB  producBX  productBY 0
456-789 productC  producCX  productCY 1
;

I want to transform it to

{"identifier":"123-456","values":{"label":[{"scope":null,"data":"productA"}],"search":[{"scope":"XX","data":"producAX"},{"scope":"YY","data":"productAY"}],"enabled":[{"scope":null,"data":true}]}}
{"identifier":"123-789","values":{"label":[{"scope":null,"data":"productB"}],"search":[{"scope":"XX","data":"producBX"},{"scope":"YY","data":"productBY"}],"enabled":[{"scope":null,"data":false}]}}
{"identifier":"456-789","values":{"label":[{"scope":null,"data":"productC"}],"search":[{"scope":"XX","data":"producCX"},{"scope":"YY","data":"productCY"}],"enabled":[{"scope":null,"data":true}]}}

I try do understand the doc of proc json but when i try something like

proc json out="&ftpit\jsontest.json" pretty nosastags; 
     export testdataset; 
run;

I got extra array [ ] on my json, and also a comma between each items and i'm struggle to "split" my columns inside the "value" tag, but also be able to put specific column inside the right value

Literraly i think i need to do something like a loop for each row of my dataset and 

-create json
- create key idendifier and put testdataset.sku

-create key values
- create key label and put [{"scope":null,"data":testdataset.label}]
- put coma
- create key search and put [{"scope":"XX","data":testdataset.search__XX},{"scope":"YY","data":testdataset.search__YY}]
- put coma
- create key "enabled" and put [{"scope":null,"data": case when testdataset.enabled = 1 then true else false }]
- close json

not sure if it's something doable via sas ?

Thanks for your help

4 REPLIES 4
Ksharp
Super User
data testdataset;
datalines;
;