BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
JafferStroks
Calcite | Level 5

Some context: I am currently a first year math student, interested in becoming a statistician. I keep seeing references to SAS, SQL, R, and other similar tools, but my program offers only basic computer science classes and I wouldn’t be able to take more than one or two of them. Can I expect to learn more about programming in a statistics graduate program? Or is a solid foundation in computer science necessary for such a program? Most importantly, do employers expect fresh graduates to have skills in SAS or SQL? Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance!

6 REPLIES 6
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

My department (at a bank) just hired two students right out of college who did not know SAS. Over the years, they have hired many people who did not know SAS. They are expected to learn SAS on the job, and training and mentorship is provided. The bank was looking for quantitative skills, which the students certainly had, based on their college degree and resumé.

Maybe other banks are different.

--
Paige Miller
sbxkoenk
SAS Super FREQ

Hello,

It's much easier to learn SAS on-the-job than it is to learn statistics on-the-job (the latter is nearly impossible).

And if your program offers some computer programming courses, you will also benefit from these when learning SAS (even when the original coding language was another one).

When you make your master thesis I suppose you are free to choose the software you do your thesis with. You can choose SAS to prepare for the "market place".

Good luck,

Koen

SuCheeTay
SAS Employee