BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
rwan1
Obsidian | Level 7

Dear all,

As mentioned in another thread a few days ago, I'm new to administering SAS on a Linux (Ubuntu) server, so apologies for the silly question.  It's a bit of a steep learning curve for me...

One of the reasons we've installed SAS is to allow user to connect remotely to our server via client-side SAS (I think running under Windows -- he bought his own license).  Is there a way I can test if SAS/Connect has been installed correctly on my side before I let the user test it?  (I can ask him now, but I guess I should do some basic checks or else many people will not be too pleased with me.)

I did come across this article (http://support.sas.com/kb/15/162.html), which lists the default ports used by SAS.  Clearly I would need to open up the firewall to these ports (i.e., 7551).  Anything else I need to be aware of?

I guess another reason why I'm asking is that *I* don't have a license for the client version of SAS.  If I had that, then I could test it myself by reading server-side error messages.  Or, is there a very reduced version of SAS client that I could download (i.e., for free) which I could use to test SAS/Connect on the server?

Thanks a lot for any advice!

Ray

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
doug_sas
SAS Employee
  1. Go to the machine that has the spawner running. It should have SAS and be licensed for SAS/CONNECT.
  2. Start SAS
  3. Run the following code:
    1. %let host=localhost 7551;
    2. signon host user='<your_user_id>' pwd='<your_pwd_on_host>';
    3. signoff;

This will start SAS and run it as a SAS/CONNECT client to the spawner on the same machine using the default CONNECT server port.

It that works provide the code to the user and replace 'localhost' with the fully-qualified host name of the spawner machine as the user would access it.