BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
tcooper92
Fluorite | Level 6

THis is a reposting from Issues managing SAS. I am a new SAS admin, trying to get our server based applications working. This was turned over to us from an install vendor and has never been functional.

Our issues are:

1. SAS doesn’t like the OS Version and Update values of this Solaris server and won’t start the software Error Message: This machine is currently using the following operating system: Solaris 10 update 0

However, you need the following operating system (or later) in order to install and run your SAS software: Solaris 10 update 9

We can only get by this problem when running a flag to the installer to not run the OS version check

2. During install of software, the installation of the binaries would fail randomly with Java Out of Memory ErrorsThis issue seems to have gone away after a reboot of the SAS Solaris Instance

3. Random Java errors in a SAS Session when starting up SAS Program Interface on the Server  This issue went away after apply a SAS host fix

4. The Configuration portion of the software fails when running in quiet mode

5. The Configuration portion of the software fails when running in interactive mode

All ideas are welcomed.

11 REPLIES 11
ballardw
Super User

I think you need to contact tech support.

Note that SAS licenses often include the version of the software the installation is expected to run on. So if you try to install a license on an incorrect version then you get this type of error.

Tech support should be able to verify which specific installation files you will need for server or client installs.

nhvdwalt
Barite | Level 11

What version of SAS are you installing ? Is this Solaris on SPARC or x64 ?

tcooper92
Fluorite | Level 6

The physical (host) server is a SUN T5-4 Oracle Solaris OS, version 11.

There are two VM's for a DB and App server on the same physical machine and they are running the Solaris Version 10.* OS.