BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
RedPlanet
Obsidian | Level 7

I looked for information on how to find our SAS users, the programs run, and even the datasets read and written (if that's available).  I found a document that seems to answer my questions, "SAS® 9.4 Intelligence Platform -- System Administration Guide, Fourth Edition", on PDF pages 107-108, 111-112, and 133-134.  I'm looking for a confirmation or answer from an admin, since I'm just an inquisitive developer.

We have the SAS grid, and should update soon to the latest version with the latest software.  I have applications that will be converted to the new platforms, but we need to know who will be affected by those conversions.  It looks like SAS Management Console has that information.  I also noticed that current and historical metadata server logs may have what I want, as mentioned on pages 133-134.

Our SAS grid runs Linux with SAS 9.4 (TS1M3).  I expect that we will upgrade to latest 9.4 version soon, which I believe has an upgraded SAS Management Console that may answer these questions.

Please share your advice on answering this age old question:  who uses the software that I'm writing?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
JuanS_OCS
Amethyst | Level 16

Hello @RedPlanet,

I understand that you are trying to get ready for a migration, and you are doing an impact analysis, in order to design a migration plan. Do I understand it correctly?

For that:

• the SAS Management Console (SMC) is a great  GUI to give you a view on the inventory of metadata objects, and the authorisations on it (indeed, as @LinusH said, the current ones)