BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Sireesha
Calcite | Level 5

Getting an error: 

"Objspawn was unable to launch the server SASApp - Workspace Server due to the server launch exceeding the specified wait time. 

Failed to start the server"

This is a grid environment, and the new application servers created - (for example SASAppVS, created for the Visual Statistics use) - work fine. I am new to the grid environment. So, any help regarding this would be appreciated. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
MadhuKiran1
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi Timmy,

we are using SAS9.4 Grid Ts1M2 and we started receiving bunch on below Error every day(customers are mainly using SAS EG).

Objspawn was unable to launch the server SASApp - Workspace Server (A5UCJJ3G.AY00000C) due to the server launch exceeding the specified wait time

And then I did try to validate the application server using non-unrestricted user and got the below error.

[2/9/16 11:58 AM] INFO: Starting extended validation for Workspace server (level 1) - Making a connection
[2/9/16 11:59 AM] SEVERE: The launch of server SASApp - Workspace Server for user failed.
[2/9/16 11:59 AM] SEVERE: Failed to start the server.
[2/9/16 11:59 AM] SEVERE: The application could not connect to any server in the cluster

And I checked the available ports starting with 859* and below is the output I got(mostly all ports are established), can you please suggest me which Port I can use 

[sas@localhost ObjectSpawner]$ netstat -anp | grep 859
tcp 0 0 :::8591 :::* LISTEN 7296/objspawn
tcp 0 0 :::8593 :::* LISTEN 7296/objspawn
tcp 0 0 :::8594 :::* LISTEN 7296/objspawn
tcp 0 0 :::8595 :::* LISTEN 7296/objspawn
tcp 0 0 :::8596 :::* LISTEN 7296/objspawn
tcp 0 0 ::ffff:10.1.6.34:8591 ::ffff:144.131.10.135:59241 TIME_WAIT -
tcp 0 0 ::ffff:10.1.6.34:8596 ::ffff:144.131.24.62:34525 ESTABLISHED -