BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
tpr
Obsidian | Level 7 tpr
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi. I'm a SAS server admin. I've managed to set up SAS Foundation 9.4 on a remote Windows server and share it so that I can run it from another server (shortcut on my "client" server that points to local sasv9.cfg; cfg file points to shared installation on remote server). I have proc lca installed on the remote server and I can successfully run a proc lca test if I am logged in directly to the remote server. However, I can't get it to run properly from my client. Is there a way for me to point my client to the remote server for third party procs?

Sorry if this actually is more of a programming question.

Thanks.

14 REPLIES 14
anja
SAS Employee

Hi

When you say that you cannot proberly run it, what exactly does that mean?

What are the errors, warning? What are the symptoms that it is not running correctly?

What DBMS version and what SAS version are you running? Is the dbms client running on your client machine?

Thanks

Anja

tpr
Obsidian | Level 7 tpr
Obsidian | Level 7

The SAS version is 9.4 TS1M2. I don't have DBMS installed on the server or client, and I don't see any option for it during installation. I did not originally have any SAS installation on the client - just the sasv9.cfg file that pointed everything to the shared installation (except for temporary work files), and the sas shortcut that pointed to that config file. That allowed me to run SAS on the client. After I got the proc lca error, I installed the client option from the depot, but that didn't have any obvious effect on how SAS or the procedure runs.

I've attached an image of the error I get when I try to run a proc lca test on the client. I am able to exit at the command prompt spawned during the test.

Here is the proc lca test code.

DATA test;
INPUT it1 it2 it3 it4 count;
DATALINES;
1  1  1  1  5
1  1  1  2  5
1  1  2  1  9
1  1  2  2  8
1  2  1  2  5
1  2  2  1  8
1  2  2  2  4
2  1  1  1  5
2  1  1  2  3