BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Alok_Pal
Quartz | Level 8

Hi There,

I am new to SAS environment, I don't know much and I don't want to mess up with the entire system. We are running SAS 9.4 on linux servers and about couple days ago I have received the new SID files with sas software license renewal order email. I have been reading through the instructions for renewing software, the admin guide and what not. But my confusion here is that with my license renewal order I have recieved SID files both for Linux and Windows os, additionally I have received two different licenses (1 for TEST & DEVELOPMENT environment and other one for PRODUCTION environment). I quite understood how I am going to go about renewing software on linux but my doubt here is,

• Do I have to renew licenses on both linux and windows?
    • If yes, then how? As we have SAS installed on Linux?
    • if not, then why did I recieved SID files for windows as well?
  • How renewing license on linux servers will renew the windows desktop clients and SAS VA?
  • Do I have to apply different license files in DEV, TEST and PROD environment? In our current configuration, we have same SID files being applied in all different environments.

Any help/ references will be greately appreciated.

Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
nhvdwalt
Barite | Level 11

Hi @Alok_Pal

@alexal is quite correct with the documentation.

Just some additional points I've picked up over the years.....

The disclaimer here is that licensing is a very site-specific topic meaing that your license is specific to your company according to the commercial agreement you have with SAS Inc. ALWAYS enagage with your SAS Account Executive since your AE will know your licensing structure well and why things the way they are. Ok, disclaimer done....

"I have recieved SID files both for Linux and Windows os"