BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SAS_AMUH
Obsidian | Level 7

I would like to free up space to display data, outputs and log in SAS original screen, and do the programming and submit it from a separate screen.   I have followed the following website for setting up Notepad++. 

https://blogs.sas.com/content/sasdummy/2017/08/25/npp-with-sas/

I am not really good with setting up a computer and this may be a super basic question, but I would like some help, please.

I followed 2nd step in which I need to enter command.

I have copy&pasted exact command. I checked that the SAS.EXE path is the same. 

I wonder if I need to change other things in this command. 

"C:\Program Files\SASHome\SASFoundation\9.4\sas.exe" -sysin "$(FULL_CURRENT_PATH)" -log "$(CURRENT_DIRECTORY)\$(NAME_PART).log" -print "$(CURRENT_DIRECTORY)\$(NAME_PART).lst"

Do I need to change the words in brackets?

If there are any other ways to set up, could you please tell me?

Thank you for your help. 

2 REPLIES 2
PaulHomes
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

Those $(UPPER_CASE_THINGS_IN_PARENTHESES) are environment variables that will be automatically replaced by Notepad++ with values appropriate for the (SAS) file you are currently editing. See http://docs.notepad-plus-plus.org/index.php/External_Programs for more info.

I assume that you have sas.exe on the same machine you are running Notepad++ on? i.e. SAS is not on a remote Windows or Linux server that you usually access with a platform client like SAS Enterprise Guide?

If it is not working then I would try constructing the command that Notepad++ would run and then paste it into a command window and see if you get any interesting error messages.

SAS_AMUH
Obsidian | Level 7
Thank you I will try it again.

suga badge.PNGThe SAS Users Group for Administrators (SUGA) is open to all SAS administrators and architects who install, update, manage or maintain a SAS deployment. 

Join SUGA 

Get Started with SAS Information Catalog in SAS Viya