BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
nambhanushali
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi Team,

I am new to SAS admin.How do I upgrade current LDAP to more secure LDAP authentication?

What is the process?Any documents to refer?

Also what kind of certificates will be needed to install it for authentication ? and where can I find those certificates?

There are 2 servers which SAS needs to access to connect to 3rd party software (Labware LIMS) to extract/fetch the data in reports.

Thank You

Regards,

Namrata

10 REPLIES 10
alexal
SAS Employee

@nambhanushali,

SAS has multiple ways to configure the authentication. Please clarify, are you talking about direct LDAP authentication method on the metadata server, LDAP authentication in sasauth.conf or LDAP authentication within PAM?

JuanS_OCS
Amethyst | Level 16

Hello @nambhanushali,

what is the SAS version of your servers? The certificates must be always imported in the SASPrivateJavaRuntimeEnvironment certificate store.

Please read the following links, it should give you much more than enough information.

https://communities.sas.com/t5/Administration-and-Deployment/How-to-implement-both-AD-and-LDAP-for-u...

http://support.sas.com/kb/48/142.html

https://www.sas.com/content/dam/SAS/fr_fr/doc/support-clients/articles/us2016_q3_implementation-d-un...

The last line about the Labware LIMS servers.... what is the relevance of it for the question?

nambhanushali
Fluorite | Level 6

HI I still did not get the solution as in from where to start?

I got access to SAS Management Console & server access, but I dont know how do I check current LDAP config.

Like below ???

1. Direct LDAP authentication method on the metadata server,
  2. LDAP authentication in sasauth.conf or
  3. LDAP authentication within PAM (Pluggable authentication modules?
alexal
SAS Employee

@nambhanushali,

I would like to see an output from the commands shown below:

grep methods /<SASHome>/SASFoundation/9.4/utilities/bin/sasauth.conf