BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
pmaturi83
Fluorite | Level 6

My organization is looking to upgrade current version of SAS 9.3 to SAS 9.4 latest maintenance on same AIX machine. If a similar exercise is performed by any one, please share check list/any step-by-step document to perform it.

Please note that I'm new to SAS and so looking if some one can mentor or help.

5 REPLIES 5
SASKiwi
PROC Star

Are you intending to have both versions running at the same time so you can test your migrated SAS applications? If your applications are business-critical I would strongly recommend this approach. The downside is installing / running two different SAS versions on the same hardware is more complicated.

If on the other hand you upgrade and replace at the same time you wont be able to properly test migrated applications plus there will be some significant downtime which could be just a few days but could be longer depending on the complexity of your architecture and whether you will be making any architectural changes during the upgrade.

Since you are new to this I suggest you get some expert SAS advice either from SAS or a SAS partner to make sure you make the right decisions for your organisation. 

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

@pmaturi83 wrote:

My organization is looking to upgrade current version of SAS 9.3 to SAS 9.4 latest maintenance on same AIX machine. If a similar exercise is performed by any one, please share check list/any step-by-step document to perform it.

Please note that I'm new to SAS and so looking if some one can mentor or help.

If you can afford major downtime, you can try that. But you would have to install 9.4 over the existing 9.3 version with a full migration on the way.

From experience, I recommend not to run two SAS versions side-by-side on the same server; you have to do quite a lot of customizations to ports (to avoid collisions) that make the new installation hard to maintain later.