BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
NatNat
Calcite | Level 5

At the moment I'm working on data migration from on premise to SAS and would like to know the following information. It's my first time working with SAS products. Hope for your understanding. 

In Migrate SAS Content with the Migration Wizard's Overview section's 2nd passage above Note, it is stated that Migration Wizard generates migration record file etc. I would like to know more (for example what is included in those files, volume, is there a need to edit it (if yes where should I do it) etc) about the following files:
- migration record file
- migrated files

- metadata updates

- log file

3 REPLIES 3
SASKiwi
PROC Star

You haven't really given much context to your question so it's hard to provide useful advice.

As a starting point have you been through the SAS Migration Focus Area. That really is the starting point for doing SAS migrations.

Have you run the SAS 9 content Assessment Toolset across your existing SAS installation?

What is your current SAS version on what OS / hardware and what is your target SAS version and OS / hardware?

I also hope you have some experienced SAS consultants working with you on your project as SAS migration is complicated and best done with expert help.

NatNat
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you for comment.

Answers for your questions etc are below.

Q:As a starting point have you been through the SAS Migration Focus Area . That really is the starting point for doing SAS migrations.

A:I was provided only with Migrate SAS Content with the Migration Wizard  guide and was told that it must be enough. But to provide necessary explanations, I'm doing a research about things I don't know/understand.

Q:Have you run the SAS 9 content Assessment Toolset  across your existing SAS installation?

A: As I do not have an access to client's PC, I can't run existing SAS installations.