BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Slash
Quartz | Level 8

Hi, guys!

I'm a SAS Administrator, I've changed something about SAS Server, and I want to send a message to All EG Users about what they should do. Because ther are lots of SAS users, I can't call them all. So I'm just trying to figure out a way to send a message when they log on SAS Server through EG.

So, is there a way can do that???Smiley Happy

3 REPLIES 3
Nigel_Pain
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Could you not just compile a distribution list of EG users (presumably you have this available in the metadata) and use it to email them. That's what I do when I need to send a message to all our SAS users. It won't be when they log on but as long as they have the information in a timely manner I can't see that this would matter.

Nigel

ronan
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

It's not built-in generally. Two general requirements :

1. being able to retrieve each user's email, from the metadata repository (if, by any chance, this information is stored with the user acccount ?) or from the user authentication directory (eg MS Active Directory) using a join with user's id

2. is your SAS computing server configured with SMTP ?

Then two ways I can think of to implement this kind of thing :

A. write a stored process which retrieves the emails list and sends a message to the mailing list : example  36567 - E-mail last error/warning message that were generated during a SAS program

B. Use the publishing framework (SMC Publishing framework plug-in). Rather old-school and a little bit cumbersome.

HTH

jakarman
Barite | Level 11

When you would have defined the email-addresses in the metadata you could have used the publish option to mail them all or selective groups.