BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
rgreen33
Pyrite | Level 9

I have a "crosswalk" table in SQL, where I map my users to various "data areas".  I want to load this table in SAS...and then run a process against the table to automate the creation of users/groups (and populate groups) in SAS.  I see the sample for doing this from Active Directory...but not from a table that is loaded in SAS.  Is anyone doing this?  If so, do you have a script that you would mind sharing?  I think that I need to use the cononical tables, but I don't understand how I go from SAS to cononical table to SAS user/group.  By the way, I am new to SAS, so it is possible that I am missing/misunderstanding the obvious. 🙂

Thanks,

Ricky

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
rgreen33
Pyrite | Level 9

First, let me thank @JuanS_OCS and @LinusH for your help.  With your help, I was able to create a solution that works for my setup.

So, here is my setup.  I work in Higher Education, so almost everything in my data maps to college codes and department codes.  However, I did not have a data sources that tied individuals to a college/department...and I needed this, as we plan to use SAS' row-level security.  In order to create this, I have several pieces...but, I wanted it all to work from Active Directory.  So, I created the following:

Active Directory:  I have an OU setup with 100 or so groups in it.  Each group contains any number of users.

SQL Server:  I have a job in SQL Server that is setup to run at the top of every hour.  This job essentailly gets my group membership for all group in my OU.  The last step of this job is to ETL the data to Oracle, which is where my crosswalk table exists.