BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
TamaraTavares
Calcite | Level 5

Hello All,

I just started learning and using SAS in order to run a mixed models analysis. I have a 2 level design with a random intercept and several covariates (my code is below).

Proc Mixed Data=lib.vent_data2 METHOD=ML COVTEST;
Class Family_ID GS_Time1 gender_time1;
Model TotalVent_Diff_T2_T1_ICV =GS_Time1 YrsfromAV_AAO_Time1
GS_Time1*YrsfromAV_AAO_Time1 gender_time1 /SOLUTION CL;
RANDOM intercept /SUBJECT=Family_ID;
title VentDiff_ICV=ran the model from two above with the yrsfrom onset w/out const a there is no quad;
Run;

After I ran this code I found a significant interaction between two of the level 1 covariates (GS_Time1*YrsfromAV_AAO_Time1), where GS_Time1 is a categorical variable with three levels and YrsfromAV_AAO_Time1 is a continous variable. I am wondering how I can unpack this interaction? I have seen examples of how to unpack a cross-level interactions but not sure how to unpack a within-level interaction.

Thank you in advance for your help!

7 REPLIES 7
ebowen
Quartz | Level 8

If I understand your question correctly, you're asking how to interpret the coefficient on YrsfromAV_AAO_Time1 given the interaction with your time class variable. You can think of the interaction term as a series of dummy variables (0 or 1) that change the marginal effect of YrsfromAV_AAO_Time1 depending on which time period you're in. So you have a model that looks like the following:

y_it = B_1*x_1t + B_2t*x_2t*x_1t

where x_1t is the YrsfromAV_AAO_Time1 variable and x_2t is the time period dummy variable.

When you take the marginal of this, you get:

dy/dx_1t = B_1 + B_2t*x_2t