BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
wmespi
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi,

This is my first time posting, so 1) please forgive my mistakes and 2) hit me with any suggestions for how I can help you help me better! For reference, I am using SAS Enterprise.

I have recently been thrown into a project involving factor analysis. Because of the nature of the work, I will not be able to share any data. In lieu of that, I will try to walk you through the procedure. The idea is that we are trying to examine the psychometric properties of a certain instrument (22 questions) that has been administered to a novel population. The instrument data (ignoring demographic and identifying fields) takes the form of an nx22 matrix where every field can take on an integer value from 1 to 5 (ordinal data). The paper we are more or less following can be seen here: https://europepmc.org/article/pmc/5046963 

Unfortunately the above paper does not provide a table of all of their eigenvalues so I cannot see if that was an issue they ran into. I also looked at the original paper that this instrument was based on (https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/15921473/), but it did not provide much guidance on the subject either.

In short, I am trying to run exploratory factor analysis on polychoric correlations, but some of my eigenvalues are less than zero (image of preliminary eigenvalues attached below). I have gone through a substantial amount of the literature but it seems rather foggy when it comes to polychoric correlations (my data is ordinal so Pearson's correlations are inappropriate). It is worth noting, however, that I do not have any Heywood or Ultra Heywood situations where my communalities are >=1. Although I will likely only end up retaining around 3-4 factors, I am assuming this implication of negative variance is problematic for the interpretability of my model.

wmespi_0-1606325419323.png

The code I used for the factoring is as follows:

%macro efa(sport_data,columns,method);