BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Waynerun
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all,

I am relatively new to SAS and could need some help regarding seasonality tests.

More specifically, I need to test for seasonality in quarterly cash flows. My data set contains hundreds of different firms and looks approximately like this:

id     year    Q1      Q2       Q3      Q4       Full Year 

a     1999      5         8         12       3               28

a     2000      3         3         1         7               14

a     2001      6         8         4         2                20

a     2002      8         6         3         5                22

b     2003      5         8         7         2               22

b     2004      3         1         2         7               13

b     2005      6         5         4         2                17

b     2006      9         6         3         5                23

c     2000      2         8         9         3               22

c     2001      3         3         1         5               12

c     2002      3         5         4         9                21

c     2003      1         6         8         5                20

and so on and so forth. 

I tried to get Seasonal ACF with PROC X13 but it didn't work out.

Does anyone have a simple but effective idea on how to test for seasonality?

Thank you very much in advance!

Best,

Waynerun

6 REPLIES 6
ballardw
Super User

"Didn't work out" is awful vague.

Are there errors in the log?: Post the code and log in a code box opened with the "<>" to maintain formatting of error messages.

No output? Post any log in a code box.