BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ivyc
Calcite | Level 5

Hi All,

I am new to proc power procedure and need your help calculating sample size for two groups of unequal sizes.

I have a population split into two groups 60% test and 40% control.

Wanted to calculate sample size for my two unequal groups with couple scenarios:

I want to test the Difference in means between two groups of 30 bps,50bps and 100 bps where mean1=0.65 .With alpha 0.05 and power 0.80.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

3 REPLIES 3
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

You also need a hypothetical standard deviation for the population. Here is a link to the doc for the TWOSAMPLEMEANS statement in PROC POWER.

I do not understand the phrase "two groups of 30 bps,50bps and 100 bps" or " where mean1=0.65."

However, the following shows how to specify two groups where the mean of the Test group is 30 and the mean of the Control group is 35. The groups have a common standard deviation (4.8) and the total sample size will be a multiple of 5, with 3/5 of subjects assigned to the Test group and 2/5 assigned to the Control group.

proc power;
  twosamplemeans
  groupmeans   = (30 35)    /* population means in each group */
  groupweights = (3   2)    /* 60-40 ratio */
  stddev = 4.8             /* or use GROUPSTDDEVS= */
  power = 0.8
  alpha = 0.05
  ntotal = . 
  sides = 2;
run;
ivyc
Calcite | Level 5
Hi,
I am trying to compare mean loss rates for two groups. Test and control have 60% 40% split.
My total population is 23 000.
My mean loss rate for group test is 0.65.
I want to see what sample size I need in order to detect 20,30,40,50,100 bps difference between test and control means.
I dont have vriance available. Wanted to use alpha 0.05 and power 80.
Would code below still work for my objective?
Thank you so much

Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

Yes, provided that the sample sizes are much much smaller than the total population. And you still need an estimate for the standard deviation.