BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
David17
Fluorite | Level 6

I'm a little new to Structural Equation Modeling (SEM).  I am working with a socio-behavioral survey with two latent predictor variables and one latent outcome variable with 3-4 questions each.  Almost all the questions are on a 4- or 5-level Likert scale.  My questions:  1) It seems like a polychoric transformation of each question would be useful prior to doing Exploratory Factor Analysis (EFA).  This would allow us to "de-emphasize" strongly agree and agree, if there's not much difference between those two answers for an individual question, for example.  However, several guides I've read seem to skip the polychoric correlation step, even with ordinal variables.  Is doing the polychoric transformation first useful, or is it mostly redundant with EFA, mathematically?  2) Are proc prinqual and proc factor the best procedures to use for this, respectively, or would proc calis (or something else) be better?  I'm using SAS 9.4. 3) I also have several demographic variables (age, race, location, background) which likely are associated with both the predictor and outcome latent variables.  Our primary interest is what factors affect the outcome, but our secondary interest is if the demographic variables also affect the latent predictors.  Is it okay to do this in two steps?  First, proc GLMselect on the latent outcome followed by looking at the effect of the demographic variables on the latent predictors (separately).  Or, is there a way (and is it better) to model this simultaneously?  If the latter, how?

3 REPLIES 3
awesome_opossum
Obsidian | Level 7

I would not recommend using polychoric correlations in SEM.  It's not that it's principally impossible, but the issue is really that it vastly complicates interpretation.  Tetrachoric (binary variable) correlations can work, although even then I would encourage some degree of extra caution about interpretation.