BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
mithsc
Calcite | Level 5

Hello - I'm trying to do a stratified analysis on my data using proc genmod, but I am having issues with the BY statement not working. I also read that the Where statement is inappropriate to use for a weighted analysis (http://support.sas.com/resources/papers/proceedings13/272-2013.pdf).

I ended up creating datasets with say only Female or Male and doing the analysis that way though I am getting an error here as well, model not converging, I think it may be parameter limit, though I had hoped using the weights would help with that.

"ERROR: The mean parameter is either invalid or at a limit of its range for some observations."

Any insight on how to get around error, or a better method of stratifying? Thanks

(code below - estimating prevalence ratios - please excuse the coding, i'm still a novice)

data fullexp.allnissumRPMal;

set fullexp.allnissumRP;

where gender = 1;

run;

proc genmod data = fullexp.allnissumRPMal desc;

class heat (ref='0') zipinc_qrtl (ref='4') agecat3 (ref='2') race1 (ref='1') uninsured (ref='0') hosp_bedsize (ref='3') urban (ref='2') hosp_region (ref='2') cm_chf (ref='0') cm_dm (ref='0') cm_renlfail (ref='0') cm_htn_c (ref='0') cm_neuro (ref='0') cm_psych (ref='0') cm_chrnlung (ref='0') / param = ref;

model died=heat zipinc_qrtl agecat3 race1 uninsured hosp_bedsize urban hosp_region cm_chf cm_dm cm_renlfail cm_neuro cm_psych cm_chrnlung cm_htn_c/link=log dist=bin type3;

weight finalwt;

title1 'Outcome Analysis';

title2 'Death - Respiratory - BY GENDER - Male';

ods output parameterestimates = mod1deadg2;

run;

data mod1deadg2;

set mod1deadg2;

RR = exp(estimate);

LL = exp(lowerwaldcl);

UL = exp(upperwaldcl);

proc print data = mod1deadg2;

var parameter RR LL UL;

run;

4 REPLIES 4
JacobSimonsen
Barite | Level 11

Hi,

I see this problem sometimes. I don't think the error message has anything to do with your stratification on gender. And also not a coding mistake.