BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
tuni_jt
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I have a dataset with information on buildings and structural failure risk. I am a bit new to SAS and statistical modelling, so apologies if this is a poor question.

data have;
   input Buildtype $ RoofType $ Failure $;
   datalines;
Detached Mansard  No
Detached Flat Yes
Senidetached Pitched  No
Apartment   Flat No
;

I am interested in the probability of failure of different building types and roofs, and the uncertainty estimates of this probability. So far, I have been using proc logistic:

proc logistic data=have;
  class Buildtype RoofType / param=ref ;
  model Failure (event='Yes') = Buildtype RoofType;
  Output out=want lower=lower upper=upper predicted=predicted;
run;

This outputs:

• Printed odds ratios and maximum likelihood estimates relative to a reference value. This is useful, but I would like to show a risk of failure relative to the average for all dwellings, if that makes sense.
  • A dataset want that is the same as the have dataset, with predicted failures and confidence intervals added as columns at the end. This is what I want, but is it possible just to get the list of independent variables and their predictions, instead of the entire dataset? The original dataset is quite large...
5 REPLIES 5
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26
  • Printed odds ratios and maximum likelihood estimates relative to a reference value. This is useful, but I would like to show a risk of failure relative to the average for all dwellings, if that makes sense.

Average for all dwellings generally would not make sense in this case unless the data/experiment was completely balanced, so each buildtype*rooftype occurs an equal number of times. Usually, the comparison is indeed the levels of buildtype to each other and the levels of rooftype to each other (and if desired, the interaction levels as well compared to each other)