BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
noetsi
Obsidian | Level 7

I am new to lasso and adaptive lasso. I am trying to limit the number of variables selected and so I ran this code.

proc glmselect data=randomdata plots=all;
partition fraction(validate=.3);
class pd1 pd2 pd3 pd4 pd5 pd6 pd7 pd8 pd9 pd10 pd11 pd1 pd12 pd13 pd14 pd15 pd16 pd17
pd18 pd19 pd20 pd21 pd22 pd23 pd24 pd25 pd26 pd27 pd28 pd29 pd30 pd31 ;

model dvd = pd1 pd2 pd3 pd4 pd5 pd6 pd7 pd8 pd9 pd10 pd11 pd12 pd13 pd14 pd15 pd16 pd17
pd18 pd19 pd20 pd21 pd22 pd23 pd24 pd25 pd26 pd27 pd28 pd29 pd30 pd31
/ selection=lasso(stop=none choose=validate);
run;

All of these variables have two levels including the DV, I use the variables selected to run logistic regression with half of the data held out from this data set. The problem is when I run this I get.

"Selection stopped because all candidate effects for entry are linearly dependent on effects in the model."
I have no idea what this means and no documentation I have seen mentions this. It generates a list of variables to use. I just don't know if this reflect a problem or not.

I am also unclear why it renames the variables. This is what is reported.

Effects:Intercept pd3_0 pd6_0 pd7_0 pd10_0 pd11_0 pd14_0 pd17_0 pd19_0 pd20_0 pd21_0 pd22_0 pd23_0 pd26_0 pd28_0 pd29_0 pd30_0
I don't know where the _0 comes from unless this is how  GLMSELECT treats dummies.

A second question. How do you run adaptive lasso instead of lasso. I know it can be done, I can't figure how how.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
sbxkoenk
SAS Super FREQ

Hello,

"Selection stopped because all candidate effects for entry are linearly dependent on effects in the model."

Is it a WARNING: or is it an ERROR:?

In any case, the search stopped.