BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
tka726
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello!

I am completely new to PROC CAUSALTRT, and I am attempting to use this procedure for inverse weighting by the propensity score (IPTW) – comparing 2 treatment groups (coded 0, 1) on outcomes (coded as 0, 1). I am using ATE weights. I would like an odds ratio to compare groups.

This is what I have:

proc causaltrt data = ips descending METHOD=IPWR PPSMODEL;

class outcome_ev  trtgrp female  diabyn hxsmokeyn ;

psmodel trtgrp (REF="0") = age bmi female  diabyn hxsmokeyn ;  

model outcome_ev = /  DIST=BIN;

output out=causaltrt_ate PREDCNT=PREDCNT PREDTRT=PREDTRT

ps=ps ipw=ipw;

ods output CausalEffects=CausalEffects;

run;

I want an odds ratio; is it correct to take the exponent of the ATE estimate to get the odds ratio to compare treatments on the outcome?

data causal;

set  CausalEffects;

OR_= PUT(exp(estimate),20.5);

OR_LOW= PUT(exp(lowerwaldcl),20.5);

OR_UP= PUT(exp(upperwaldcl),20.5);

run;

This is the result I got: OR of 1.00046 ( 0.99980, 1.00113), pvalue of 0.174.

Just to see -  I also used GENMOD, and the result was very different:

if trtgrp = 0 then weight1 = 1/(1-propensity);

if trtgrp = 1 then weight1 = 1/(propensity);

proc genmod data= ips descending;

weight weight1;

class outcome_ev / param=ref; 

model outcome_ev = trtgrp alpha = 0.05 dist=bin;

estimate "trtgrp" trtgrp 1 / exp;

run;

Result from GENMOD: OR of 3.6999 ( 1.6562, 8.2656) pvalue of 0.001.

The results are so very different, I wasn’t sure that I was using PROC CAUSALTRT correctly. HELP!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
StatDave
SAS Super FREQ