BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
svw1900
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi everyone,

I am using SAS University Edition and have a question regarding a regression analysis, which is probably easy to solve but I am new to SAS and did not found a particular solution for this (probably because I had not a real clue of how to find this).

I have a dataset which looks like this:

Year      Stock_Identifier       Y_Var       X_Var1

2005              1                       0,3            0,1

2006              1                       0,4            0,2

2007              1                       0,5            0,15

2008              1                       0,6            0,25

2005              2                       0,3            0,3

2006              2                       0,3            0,4

2007              2                       0,5            0,4

2008              2                       0,4            0,5

What I need is a linear regression which tells me the correlation between Y and X1 (in the real dataset, I have some more X-Var but that should not be a problem). A normal linear regression would, I think, ignore the stock identifiers and just compare Y and X. That's where I need you. The regression does only make sense at the level of the stock, so in this case there should be one regression for stock 1 and its data points between 2005 and 2008 and the next one for the second stock. At the end, however, I need a "normal" regression output table aggregated at the level of the whole dataset.

I hope that this is clear and maybe it's a stupid question (sorry for that), but I am really thankful for your input (optimally you could even explain me the steps you take, because I am really new to SAS :-)).

Kind regards

9 REPLIES 9
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26
proc sort data=have;
    by stock_identifier;
run;
proc reg data=have;
    by stock_identifier;
    model y_var = x_var1;
run;
quit;

I did not include a response to this part of your question: