BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Jonison
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello, all, I am developing customized model for company to use, and using multiple Y PLS.

The PLS procedure offers leave-one out validation, and also SAS has Jackknife estimates function. Question is that how can we combine the two functions together to get "Jackknife standard error of the prediction of Y for observations in the predictionset, computed from all rounds of cross validation"?

Also, the output provides Y-residuels as well, is this help for the Jackknife standard error referred above?

Many thanks for your kind reply.

6 REPLIES 6
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

I don't think it is possible to access individual iterations of the cross-validation done by PROC PLS. All you can obtain is the summary statistics once all cross-validation runs are finished.

--
Paige Miller
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

I am not an expert on PLS, but my understanding is that the leave-one-out cross-validation is used to determine how many factors to extract. After you perform one run of the procedure, you get ONE model and ONE set of parameter estimates. This is different from the usual use of the jackknife in which you obtain N different models.

If you want to get standard errors for the prediction limits, I think you will have to either form the jackknife samples yourself or use the %JACK macro. I've written a short overview of using the %BOOT macro, and the %JACK macro is similar.

If you have SAS/IML, another alternative it to use the basic Jackknife framework in the article "Jackknife estimates in SAS" to obtain the standard errors. The function that evaluates the statistic on each jackknife sample ('EvalStat') can write the sample to a data set and use the SUBMIT/ENDSUBMIT statements to call PROC PLS and retrieve the predicted value.