BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
jag07g
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

I am new to modeling interaction terms using proc surveylogistic. This is my original logistic regression without an interaction term. I am predicting odds of depression and my main predictors are the variables sexualminority (1= Sexual Minority 2=Not Sexual Minority and bingedrink (1=Yes binge drink currently 2=No). 

proc surveylogistic data=survey.2017;
strata stratum;
cluster psu;
weight weight;
class gender (REF='2') sexualminority (ref='2') raceethnicity (ref='1') gradelevel (ref='1') bingedrink (ref='2')/param=ref;
model depression (ref='2')= gender sexualidentity raceethnicity gradelevel bingedrink / link=glogit rsquare;

I want to create an interaction term sexualminority*bingedrink but I am unsure if I have the right code. Do I need to create the interaction term in a data step first?

This is my code so far:

proc surveylogistic data=survey.2017;
strata stratum;
cluster psu;
weight weight;
class gender (REF='2') sexualminority (ref='2') raceethnicity (ref='1') gradelevel (ref='1') bingedrink (ref='2') sexualminority (ref='2') / param=glm;
model depression (REF='2') = sexualminority*bingedrink gender sexualminority raceethnicity gradelevel bingedrink;
lsmeans sexualminority*bingedrink /oddsratio cl diff;

slice sexualmionority*bingedrink/sliceby=bingedrink diff=control ('Sexual minority' 'Does not binge drink') oddsratio cl;

run;

Would this be the appropriate way to run a categorical by categorical interaction term in proc surveylogistic? Thank you!

2 REPLIES 2
pink_poodle
Barite | Level 11

There is a topic where a person says that, while you can do that in proc logistic, proc surveylogistic does not support this syntax:

https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Statistical-Procedures/Proc-Surveylogistic-Interaction-Model/td-p...

Therefore, @vcvarela had to dummy-code the interaction variables into proc surveylogictic.

SAS_Rob
SAS Employee