BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
cHirap
Calcite | Level 5

I am new to SAS and I am trying to understand LASSO in SAS and glmselect. Can someone help me with some of the my questions here?

1. When we do glmselect , is it that SAS choses the value of lambda by its own? If so, how can I get the value of lambda it chose? I am not talking about the group LASSO or hpgenselect. I am looking for a SAS code to get lamda value for glmselect procedure. My SAS  (my stat version stat version: 14.2)

2.  I am trying to understand the difference between LASSO and Group LASSO. Can you explain the difference in simple terms?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
7 REPLIES 7
cHirap
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you. 

cHirap
Calcite | Level 5
Thank you
cHirap
Calcite | Level 5

So, I am in a situation where I need to impute my data before doing lasso. So I did the first sep for imputation which is fill-in phase. Now I have 10 imputed datasets. Now I am trying to perform glmselect.The general form of the code that I am using is -

proc glmselect data=imputed dataset plots(stepaxis=normb)=all;
model outcome= Var1 var2 .....var33/selection=lasso (choose=sbc) details=all; performance details;

by _imputation_;

ods output ParameterEstimates= parameter dataset;

run;

The doesn't work and the log doesn't say anything except the code.

Can someone help me to figure out what's the mistake that I am doing?

Also, this analysis phase I will be getting to the pooling phase of imputation where it pools the beta coefficients from 10 lasso models in the analysis phase. But my aim is to get a model with significant variables. So, will lasso give a selected model from this 10 imputed models. What the purpose of pooling phase in case of Lasso?

I FOUND SOME RESOURCES AND SOME BLOGS BUT ALL ARE FOR R .CAN SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME WITH THIS ? I AM  STUCK WITH THE ANALYSIS PHASE. THANKS.

Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ