BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
JME1
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi all,

I'm computing a modified poisson regression  (poisson regression using a robust variance) to get RRs. This is my first time doing it and it ran okay, but I have a combination of binary and categorical variables.  My output current gives me beta estimates for the binary variables accurately, however it gives me only one Beta estimate for the categorical variable and it seems as though it is treating them as binary variables.

This is my code:

proc genmod data = test;
class enrolid  sex (ref='2')  agecat(ref='1') race (ref='1') smoke (ref='0');
model diag= sex agecat race smoke / dist = poisson link = log;
repeated subject = enrolid/ type = unstr;
estimate 'Beta race' race 1 -1/exp;
estimate 'Beta smoke' smoke1 -1/exp;
estimate 'Beta sex' sex 1 -1/exp;
estimate 'Beta agecat' agecat 1 -1/exp;
run;

This is what my results look like :

Race has 4 levels and Agecat has 5 levels - how do I get the mean beta estimates for all the different levels? 

Sex and Smoke are binary and the results match my logistic regression so I know it's fine, but race and agecat is significantly different.

Mean estimate | Confidence limits| L'beta est |SE| 
Beta Race | 0.44970.25030.65841.49280.02340.051.44701.53874073.4<.0001
Exp(Beta Race)  4.44970.10410.054.25034.6584  
Beta Sex | 1.9961.91292.08430.69150.02190.050.64860.7344998.08<.0001
Exp(Beta sex)  1.99670.04370.051.91292.0843  
Beta agecat 1.1011.04481.16190.09700.02710.050.04380.150112.800.0003
Exp(Beta agecat)  1.10180.02990.051.04481.1619  
Beta smoke 0.6260.58310.6732-0.46750.03660.05-0.5393-0.3958162.91<.0001
Exp(Beta smoke)  0.62650.02300.050.58310.6732 
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
StatDave
SAS Super FREQ