BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
kwrigh28
Calcite | Level 5

Hi!

I'm a novice with SAS - using SAS University Edition - and am trying to run an odds ratio using proc logistic. I'm looking to find the odds of a respondent experiencing mental health issues (a binary variable titled mentalhealth_2008, where '1' indicates experiencing mental health issues) by their insurance type (categorical with 4 categories: 1, 2, 3, 4). Here's the code I'm using:

proc surveylogistic data=work.nsduh082;
class insurancetype / param=ref;
model mentalhealth_2008 (event=first) = insurancetype / covb;
weight ANALWT_C;
run;

My results do show me the ORs, but they show me the OR of insurance type 1 vs. 4; 2 vs. 4; and 3 vs. 4. But I just want to know the crude odds of each insurance type. 

Is there something wrong with my code? How can I get SAS to report the crude odds for each level of insurance variable?

6 REPLIES 6
Rajesh3
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello,

What you have there are crude odds ratios. Since 'insurancetype' is a categorical variable with four levels, one level should be used as a reference. Otherwise, the computation of odds would be meaningless.

Hope it helps!

Thank you,

Rajesh.

kwrigh28
Calcite | Level 5

Rajesh,

Thank you! That makes sense. I have a follow up question. I'd like to stratify my odds ratios by covariates, e.g. race (variable name: "race"). So I'd like to see what the ORs are for respondents with private insurance who are (1) white, (2) black/african american. etc. My code for looking at OR among respondents with private insurance looks like this:

class insurance_private / param=ref;
model mentalhealth_2008 (event=first) = insurance_private / covb;
weight ANALWT_C;
run;

Is there some sort of statement I can use to tell SAS to stratify my odds by race? Thank you!

StatDave
SAS Super FREQ