BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
fastandcurious
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello,

I created different statistical models using demo data and need help interpreting/wording the odds ratio/output from Proc logistic simple terms. I have models with and without interactions. I appreciate any input as I am still learning to read output correctly. There are so many different ways to get Odds ratios that I worry about reading it incorrectly or am missing a step when it comes to inverted values.

Proc Logistic: Interaction Model Questions:

I used the exponentiated values from the Estimate value  from the Analysis of Maximum Likelihood Estimates table, to calculate the Odds ratio (OR)

1.  If I exponentiate , 0.2888 (for the interaction Race*SomeCollege Hispanic Yes and get 1.33,can I say that Hispanic women who attended some college were 33% more likely to have infants with low birthweight, compared to White women who did not attend college?
  2. If I  exponentiate an inverse value such as -0.2205, and get 0.802, do I substract from 1 and say: Hispanic women  were ~20% less likely to have infants with low birthweight, compared to White women.
  3. For the estimate table (Exp=1.9422), can I say, Black women who did not attend college were 94% more likely to have infants with low birthweight, compared to White women who did not attend college?

proc logistic data=Sashelp.Birthwgt plots(only)=(effect oddsratio) ;
class race (ref="White")somecollege(ref="No")/param=ref;
model LowBirthWgt (event="Yes")=somecollege|race/ clodds=pl selection=backward;
estimate 'Black, no college' race 0 1 somecollege 0/exp;
run;

fastandcurious_3-1691590762649.png

Questions from a simple Logistic Model with No Interactions :

1. Using the Odds Ratio Estimates table- Can I say women who went to college, were 82% less likely to have low birth weight infants, than women who did not attend college? Or would it be, 18% because I have to subtract from 1?