BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
PSB
Fluorite | Level 6 PSB
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi all,

I posted this on a different SAS forum but was told my question was suited for this forum.

I'm relatively new to the world of SAS - I have some experience running PROC MIXED but have not needed to use SAS all too much throughout my graduate training. Here's a summary of my data that is being used for my dissertation:

- Approximately 50 youth, diagnosed with certain mental health disorders, who were a part of an intensive, 5-week treatment program

- The outcome of interest is aggression which is a continuous, non-negative, count variable and is showing a negative binomial distribution (highly positively skewed with var > mean). This outcome was measured across the 5 weeks - thus, each child has a weekly aggression score

- This outcome is showing a highly skewed distribution across the 5 weeks

- I am interested in whether certain pre-treatment affective states (e.g., irritability), measured continuously, predict changes in the intercept and slope/trajectory of aggression across the 5 treatment weeks

- Importantly, treatment did NOT differ across youth; they all received the same treatment

- Outside of a categorical covariate, the rest of my predictors are all continuous

The various resources I have read online suggest PROC GLIMMIX to be the ideal approach but the issue I am running into is that every single resource/example implies that GLIMMIX is best suited for clustered data where participants are separated into various conditions. Again, that is not the case for my data. I have scores nested within youth but that is it. 

I've consulted various resources and have piecemealed syntax that runs a converging model without errors (all predictors are continuous and have been centered hence the 'c'):

PROC GLIMMIX DATA = folder.data method=quad;
Class ID;