BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
lotcarrots
Calcite | Level 5

I am just starting to learn about the advanced methods of variable selection (lasso, lar, ridge,...). As a start I simply wanted to test the different functionalities of SAS and tried to implement a stepwise regression in PROC HPGENSELECT to compare with PROC LOGISTIC, since this is what both procedures offer. I know that for LASSO I have to use HPGENSELECT. But now few questions already arise:

1) I thought that these two syntaxes would do the same:

proc logistic data=TEST;
   	class y x1 x2 x3 x4 x5 x6 x7 x8;
	model y = x1 x2 x3 x4 x5 x6 x7 x8 / link=logit selection=stepwise
	                  slentry=0.2
	                  slstay=0.167
	                  details
	                  lackfit;
run;

proc hpgenselect data=TEST;
   	class y x1 x2 x3 x4 x5 x6 x7 x8;
	model y = x1 x2 x3 x4 x5 x6 x7 x8 / link=logit;
	selection method=stepwise(select=sl sle=0.2 sls=0.167 /*stop=SBC*/);
	performance details;
run;

Proc logisttic bases its decisions on p-values as required with the select=sl in the second code (with same entry and exit levels). But results are different. Does the model or algorithm differe between these procedures, and how?

2) For an ordinal logistic regression, with ordinal IVs, must each variable be followed by an (param = ordinal)? E.g.

class y x1(param = ordinal) x2(param = ordinal) x3(param = ordinal) x4(param = ordinal) x5(param = ordinal) x6(param = ordinal) x7(param = ordinal) x8(param = ordinal);

Thanks in advance!

2 REPLIES 2
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

1) Are you sure the MODELS are different, or is it just that the parameterization of the CLASS variables are different?

The LOGISTIC procedure uses an EFFECT parameterization to build the design matrix.

The HP procedures use the GLM parameterization as a default.

This will result in different parameter estimates. To use the same parameterization, change the LOGISTIC procedure to use the GLM parameterization by using