BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
mszommer
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello,

I would need help w.r.t deciding on an approach. I sent out a survey and about 2000 of 15000 recipients completed the survey.

Doubts have been raised on accepting the results based on the survey responses, as stakeholders claim participants to be different from non-participants.

I now have a list of 2000 participants and 13000 non-participants. I decided to draw two random samples from the non-participants list using the below code:

proc surveyselect data=know.input_non_participants_v1
        out=know.nonp_srs2 /*create two samples*/
        sampsize=2000
        method=srs
       seed=830
       stats;
       run;

I had thought of comparing the three groups using ANOVA to test for differences among means. However, I was asked if I would use bootstrapping. I have never used it before and from my reading, I gather that it resamples the existing data set and creates a sampling distribution (plots the sample means of the 'n' samples). How would that compare the non-participant group with the participant?

Would ANOVA not do the work? Is my approach correct? Compare 2 randomly selected sample(s) of non-participants about the same size as the participants and test for difference among the means? If not, what must my approach be?

I'm pressed for time and really look forward to your advice.

Regards,

MS

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

An ANOVA helps you decide whether the means of groups are different based on an observed sample. Since you have the complete list of 15000 participants, you can use an ANOVA or a two-sample t test on the complete list to test whether the means of the responders/nonresponders are different for various variables.